Painting in damp, windy autumnal weather.

 

October Evening
Oil on watercolour paper
23cms x 31cms
NFS

It’s been terrible weather here with lashing rain, hail and thunderstorms, but last Thursday the weather quietened down enough for me to paint again outdoors. I had blocked it in late on Wednesday evening, then I finished it in a wild wind on the Thursday evening. It was an experiment for me, in that it’s the first time I’ve painted on a larger sheet of hot press watercolour paper and I found that it works beautifully. The oil paint sinks into the paper just enough to help you work faster and so there’s none of that problematic smeary, slipperiness that you get with boards or canvas.

Leave a Reply

