Phew what a scorcher!

The mill©lizgyooll

THE OLD MILL

Oil on linen canvas 30cms x 30cms

Here in France, there are beautiful views over the golden hills that I have been wanting to paint, but I’ve been finding that it’s far too hot and when the flies came buzzing in I rushed down to the nearby river. It’s beautifully fresh there without another soul, except for an occasional fisherman and there is the wonderful possibilty of jumping into the cool waters and float downstream when it all gets too much!

I now have a happy routine of setting off down there with my hot dog, throwing her into the water after a quick walk and she settles down nicely beside me. I am finding it quite a challenge since the light changes not only on the landscape, but moves rapidly over the water at a rate I can hardly keep up with. However, until cooler days, I am hoping for more river painting.

River painting

2 thoughts on “Phew what a scorcher!

Leave a Reply

