Paintings that have been important for me

ORANGE WRAPPINGS

ORANGE WRAPPINGS Full size sheet of Arches watercolour paper

I’m working hard on large oil paintings at the moment and it will be quite some time before I post a small painting again, so since I had fun going through my archives for a Facebook invitation to put up five paintings I thought I’d repeat this here. I chose five paintings that meant and still mean something to me and that I no longer have in my life, since they were sold.

I have found it interesting to look back and see how things have changed for me and my work and although I still love the subjects that I have enjoyed right from the very beginning, life changes and now that I live in France my subject matter has also changed. I am now much more involved with weather and changing light, whereas in Italy the weather was so much more stable that I could work outside on a large canvas without too much fear that it might all completely change the next day. Not the case here in SW France!

This first painting was one of a series and I think this one is my favourite. I painted this after several trips to Napoli and not only did I fall in love with the city, but I totally fell in love with the myriad citrus wrappers there. All of them were fantastic, so colourful, amusing and each orange and lemon felt as though it was specially wrapped for a special Christmas present.

I painted this series (about 10 paintings) in the late 80s, when I principally worked in watercolour which seemed to be the ideal medium for painting the semi-transparent papers.

Leave a Reply

