The River Aveyron

From the bridge

From Mirabel Bridge, Oil on canvas 40cmsx40cms

Not such a very small painting, but I realise it’s quite a long time since I made a post here.

In the heat of this summer, I continuously enjoyed painting and drawing down at the river and although a I found a great place to paint, I felt that I wanted to find another viewpoint and went a little further away, to a bridge over the river at Mirabel. I was attracted to this view of the river since I am fairly obsessed with views from above, as if I were flying.

At the end of this hot, perfect summer’s day, a large flock of sheep suddenly appeared hurrying down to the water’s edge to quench their thirst. It seemed to me to be exactly what the river scene had been missing and I hurriedly took a few photos before they vanished!

I had a half-started painting, some scrappy sketches and a few fuzzy photos to finish this one and it’s really not been very easy.

2 thoughts on “The River Aveyron

Leave a Reply

